A place where light lives

Olga first found herself abroad in 2012, when she was taking little Polina. Six monthsbefore that, Polya and her mother Sveta had come to a friend on a winter holidays toAustria. Suddenly Sveta had a fever, in the hospital she was shockingly diagnosed -acute leukemia. Olga was helping her friend as best as she could, she was collectingmoney in Russia for a treatment. A month before her death, Sveta was placed in ahospice.  

Sveta called me and said: “That’s all. I can’t take it anymore.” I realized that I urgentlyneeded to fly to pick up Pauline.  

Sveta died on September 11 The same evening Olga and Polina flew to Russia toavoid problems with Austrian guardianship, with Russian guardianship there wereplenty of them as well. At the time of custody, Olya had two children of her own, asmall apartment, an official salary of maternity ward nurse of the Central CityHospital in Berezovsky and a completed divorce with her ex-husband. However, thatwas just on paper. In fact, home is measured not by square meters, but by the amountof love. The love and care of all family members was enough for Polina to grow upas a beautiful smiling girl, who brilliantly finished school and enrolled to medicalcollege. Now she is an indispensable assistant at the Olga’s shelter for stray cats “TheMustachioed Angel.”  

Olga got her shelter for stray cats “Whiskered Angel” 4 years ago. At first, she wasjust helping with food, but gradually caring for the cats completely fell on hershoulders. Every morning Olga’s route lies through an old wooden house, with theonly plastic window in which the lights never go out. With light, cats are much easierto survive the night. 

  The second time Olga comes for day cleaning, Yura helps to copewith treatment and reception of new wards.    

Well-to-do animals do not get here; allhave a difficult fate, and some have severe, incurable diseases.  

The cat Bucks wasfound with his paws taken away, the X-ray showed a bullet in his spine, Bucks wouldnever walk. Because of disability and bladder problems, he should be washed everyday, so as not to form bedsores.   

Kamysh is washed as well, because he has problemswith the gastrointestinal tract and he needs additional daily hygiene.  

Baba Valyasleeps in her favorite bed. Olga took her from a woman with a mental disorder.  

from a woman with a mental disorder. “BabaValya lived for 6 years with her paws tied, on the floor in the toilet. In the shelterthought with a difficulty, she started walking. She still sleeps in the habitual posefrom many years of being tied, ” says Olga.   

Old Kira barely walks. She lived 15 yearswith the owners, but they decided to move and to leave Kira in the staircase. “Kiralives out in comfort. She has the usual health problems for an older animal.  Rightnow, there are problems with the gastrointestinal tract, we treat, we put injections, butthe main part of the time, she is just an old cat that needs love and affection”. 

Findingnew owners for such animals is almost impossible. Olya speaks of them with goodhumor. Otherwise, one can go crazy with pity. Each look of her cats is filled with gratitude for the opportunity to live, to receive a portion of care and affection, to sleepin warmth and to eat specially selected food. 

There are much more healthy orrecovered cats in the shelter, they joyfully run to meet, rub on the feet, purr and havefun games while Olya and Yura are cleaning.  

Olga is always in a hurry. Aftercleaning, she goes to do therapeutic massage, this is her main income, the nurse’ssalary is not enough. Nevertheless, even in the hectic and rush, she doesn’t forget totell every pet a good word and caress. Dogs sometimes get into the cat’s shelter, theyquickly find a common language with cats. At the time of filming, a puppy wasbrought to the shelter; unknown people cut off her ears and threw her out into thestreet. The financing, finding new homes and treatment of the inhabitants of the"Whiskered Angel” lies mostly on Olya’s shoulders, and there are enough ordinaryeveryday difficulties.  

Older children grew up, got their own families. However, in theevening at home she is always awaited by Polinа, a beloved man, two dogs and fivecats. In some incomprehensible way, Olya manages to warm everyone.  

Документальные проекты

Место, где свет.

Оля впервые оказалась за границей в 2012 году, когда забирала маленькую Полину. За полгода до этого Поля с мамой Светой приехали к другу на зимние каникулы в Австрию, внезапно у Светы поднялась температура, в больнице был поставлен шокирующий диагноз — лейкоз в острой форме. Оля помогала подруге, как могла, собирала в России деньги на лечение. За месяц до смерти Свету поместили в хоспис.

«Света позвонила мне и сказала: „Всё. Я больше не могу.“ Я поняла, что нужно срочно вылетать, чтобы забрать Полину»

Света умерла 11 сентября, в этот же вечер Оля с Полиной вылетели в Россию, чтобы избежать проблем с австрийской опекой. С российской опекой их тоже было достаточно. На момент оформления опеки у Оли было двое родных детей, небольшая квартира и официальная зарплата медсестры родильного отделения ЦГБ г. Берёзовского, оформленный развод с бывшим мужем. Но это всего лишь на бумаге. По факту дом измеряется не квадратными метрами, а количеством любви. Любви и заботы всех членов семьи хватило, чтобы Полина выросла красивой улыбчивой девушкой, блестяще закончила школу и поступила в медицинский институт. Сейчас она незаменимая помощница в Олином приюте для бездомных кошек «Усатый ангел».

 Приют для бездомных кошек «Усатый ангел» появился у Оли появился 4 года назад. Сначала она просто помогала ему кормами, постепенно уход за подопечными полностью лёг на её плечи. Каждое утро Олин маршрут лежит через старенький деревянный дом, с единственным пластиковым окном, в котором никогда не гаснет свет. Со светом кошкам гораздо легче пережить ночь.

Второй раз Оля приезжает для дневной уборки помещения, лечением и приёмом новых подопечных помогает справляться Юра. 

Благополучные животные сюда не попадают, у всех тяжёлая судьба, у некоторых тяжёлые, неизлечимые болезни.

 Кота Бакса нашли с отнявшимися лапами, на снимках обнаружили пулю и в позвоночнике, Бакс никогда не будет ходить. Из-за инвалидности и проблем с мочевым пузырём его надо подмывать каждый день, чтобы не образовывались пролежни.

Камыша подмывают, потому что у него проблемы с ЖКТ и он так же нуждается в дополнительной ежедневной гигиене.

В любимой лежанке спит Баба Валя. Оля забрала её у женщины с психическим расстройством. 

"Баба Валя 6 лет жила со связанными лапами, на полу в туалете. В приюте она с трудом, но начала ходить, спит в привычной от многолетнего связывания позе", рассказывает Оля.

Едва ходит и старенькая Кира. Она прожила 15 лет с хозяевами, но они решили переехать, а Киру оставить в подъезде.

"Кира доживает в комфорте. У неё обычные для возрастного животного проблемы со здоровьем. Вот сейчас проблемы с ЖКТ, лечим, ставим уколы, но основную часть времени — это просто старенькая кошка, которой нужна любовь и ласка".

Найти хозяев таким животным практически невозможно. Оля говорит о них с добрым юмором. По-другому можно сойти с ума от жалости. В каждом взгляде её подопечного чувствуется благодарность за возможность жить, получать порцию тепла и ласки, спать в тепле и есть специально подобранный корм.


Гораздо больше в приюте здоровых или выздоровевших котов и кошек, они радостно бегут навстречу, трутся о ноги, мурлыкают и устраивают весёлые игры, пока Оля и Юра занимаются уборкой.

Оля всегда торопится. После уборки она едет делать лечебный массаж, это её основной заработок, зарплаты медсестры не хватает. Но даже в суете и спешке она не забывает сказать каждому подопечному доброе слово и приласкать. В кошачий приют иногда попадают и собаки, они быстро находят общий язык с котами. На момент съёмок в приют привезли щенка, неизвестные отрезали ей уши и выкинули на улицу. Финансирование, пристройство и лечение подопечных «Усатого ангела» лежит большей частью на Олиных плечах, хватает и обычных житейских трудностей.

Старшие дети выросли, обзавелись своими семьями. Но дома вечером всегда ждут Полина, любимый человек, две собаки, три кота, две кошки. Каким-то непостижимым образом Оле удаётся согреть всех.

Документальные проекты.